Hey everyone, now I've always loved metal, and listen to it quite frequently, but as a guitarist, I play blues almost exclusively. My question is, where should I start with learning the theory/fundamentals of metal? For reference, I mainly listen to Iron Maiden, Black Sabbath, and Living Color.
Fender American Standard Telecaster
Vox Night Train 15W
An ever-morphing BOSS and MXR loaded pedalboard

"I eats more chicken any man ever seen!"
-Howlin' Wolf
Hm, I guess you could start just playing metal songs and if you see anything strange in the songs you research it and learn about it. That is what I did. And most theory is the same... I have sought for years for a Metal ONLY teaching book, but I can´t find any.
Guitars:
- Gibson SG Standard
- Lag Roxane 500
- Eastwood Hi-Flyer
- Takamine EG523

Amplifiers:
- Jet City JCA50H
- George Dennis 60Watt The Blue Combo
- Marshall SuperBass 100Watt
well metal uses alot of minor scales, powerchords, more gain, also palm muted low chords to get the chug sound

aside from that its very similar to the blues just faster and more agressive usually
You know the pentatonic? Good. You're a blues player and lots of elements of blues can be found in metal! Metal is one of the easiest genres to learn. At least, the basics are. Learn the phrygian mode and the natural minor scale if you don't already know them. Other than that.......just palm muted rhythms, pedal point riffs and power chords will give you a good start.

Youtube is your friend here.
Black Sabbath is probably the band to listen to. Very generic, but still amazing.
Metallica, Sabbath, Maiden.

With those you'll pretty much learn all the basic skills you need for metal.
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself

Quote by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
Okay dont listen to these guys. . they know nothing of metal.