So I posted this thread in EG, but meant to post it here.

Story goes, I'm trying to save money. I was originally planning on buying an Agile Septor Elite 727, but it's questionable whether I'll have a job over the summer or not. Ergo, I searched for used RG7621/7421's because I hear they're EXCELLENT guitars. Enter: eBay:

Quote by old thread
I found an RG7621 on eBay for CHEAP. Apparently it's in "good condition" though... with the exception that it kinda has a LOT of wear and tear: http://cgi.ebay.com/IBANEZ-RG-7621-1999-7-STRING-ELECRIC-GUITAR-METAL-AXE-/170616086886?pt=Guitar&hash=item27b982e166. Same goes for an RG7421, but with SIGNIFICANTLY less wear and tear: http://cgi.ebay.com/Ibanez-RG7421-7-String-Guitar-Japan-Hardtail-/230599630684?pt=Guitar&hash=item35b0cf1f5c

How difficult would it be for me to repaint/finish or just remove the paint entirely (and then do a natural finish thing)? I've never done this before.

thatguyStrife said:

Gear building and customizing.

It's actually very easy, you just need a piece of sandpaper. That is to repaint - you just need to get the old one all scratched up and then apply your choice.

You can use chemicals to strip the paint, but I would recommend a power sander. Careful, don't breath in the dust (especially if you use chemicals) and do it in a dedicated room. The sanding can be done outside, but not the refinishing.

Look up on the web for more detailed how-to's.

Me:

Oh yeah. Whoops. I meant to post this in GB&C. My bad, to the mods.

Could I do the repainting/refinishing with literally just a brush? I don't have a powersprayer or whatever you'd call it. Basically, what would I need? And how would I get it to look like it's a professional quality paintjob, and not just some stock paint that you'd use on walls? I'm not talking like, have the paint be metallic or anything, but just look good.

So that's where I'm at right now.
7 STRING LEGION

Damned Icon - Invictus

Quote by SYLrules88