I'm thinking of picking up a warmoth body and I'd like to dye it but I have no experience with dye. Do I rub it on or can I spray it through an hvlp gun? That'd be to get the color. 2nd would be what do I do to get a nice shiny finish? Clear coat it with lacquer? Finally, where would I get the dye? I particularly like the deep sapphire blues and emerald greens that warmoth has.
You can wipe or spray stain.

Clear coat with lacquer then sand to about 2000 grit and buff to get a gloss finish.

Quote by dogismycopilot
Absent Mind, words cant express how much i love you. Id bone you, oh yea.

Quote by lumberjack
Absent Mind is, as usual, completely correct.

Quote by littlemurph7976
Id like to make my love for Neil public knowledge as he is a beautiful man
can you use clear tru oil as a clear coat on top of the dye or not?
- Cody

Quote by Ninja Vampirate
What a faggot, do a few lines of cocaine and have a shot of whiskey or 5 if you want to study right
Quote by syntheticocean
I don't want stain though. I want dye. Or are they considered the same thing? Ithought dye only came powdered and needed to be activated with alcohol?

Dye is NOT stain. There are a few different types. I just use Rit powder because its cheap and works with water. Basically you stir it into some water and rub it into the wood. You have to be very fast with it or it gets blotchy. The water allows you to wet a rag with plain water to wipe it and get the color you want.

Basically you start with black. Let it dry and sand it back. Then you can put your lighter colors on top. Basically, dye, sand, dye sand until you get what you want.

Read this:

http://lumberjocks.com/trifern/blog/9400

Its a bout a vase or something but its the same concept and his results are awesome.
Quote by crice6505
can you use clear tru oil as a clear coat on top of the dye or not?