I'm not 100% sure this is the right thread, but if not it's not too far off topic. Anyways....

I've been playing for a couple or years and now that I'm not an absolute beginner I'd like to start doing a little recording to a.) get a better idea of what I sound like and how I can become a better player and b.) keep track of any riffs, licks, etc. i might want to put together into original material (probably not right away but eventually). I don't need any like pro level gear obviously, and I just want a basic setup that will allow me to get a decent guitar sound into an mp3 file and maybe do a little bit of basic editing. I'm fine with my current gear setup (amp, guitar, FX) but don't have any way to record. Where should I start as far as a basic, relatively inexpensive setup (i'd like to keep it under $300ish if possible) that will let me do what I want?
Yes. What amp/guitar do you have? How loud can you crank it?

If your looking to mic your cab, an SM57 is the way to go. You'll need an interface aswell, I like the M-audio fast track pro. I've also used the presonus audiobox, it's good aswell.

If you want to record without your amp, a line 6 POD works pretty well.

As for the recording program, download Reaper. It's free to use, and can run most any VST plug-in
Guitars:
LTD Alexi-600 White & Black
LTD Alexi-200 Black(Death Adder pickup & Gold OFR)
Agile Interceptor Pro 727 7-string
Jackson JS30RR rhoads
Jackson DKMGT
Squire telecaster

amps:
Bugera 6262 212 loaded with WGS veteran 30's
Last edited by Gundamnitpete at Mar 23, 2011,
If you are just recording guitar. Buy POD Farm. It comes with a small interface which will be needed for PC recording.

Also +1 on Reaper its free, thats what I used and it works great.

POD farm is cheap. Has plenty of great plugins.
Reverbnation.com/offthewitness
i think if you only buy pod farm, you only get pod farm, but you can buy a POD Studio GX (interface) that comes with Pod Farm 2.