Hi all,
I'm complete noob when it comes to recording. I recently bought a new Macbook Pro with Apple logic, and will be recording guitar through a Shure SM57 in front of my Mark V combo. When I play though, particularly heavy stuff, there is still certainly some excess string noise from time to time and it got me wondering....how do band's record heavy riffs that are so absolutely flawless and clean from excess noise?

I like As I lay Dying, Children of Bodom, Asking Alexandria (I know I know), Killswitch, etc....Their heavy 2 string riffs and open string riffs on their albums are absolutely flawless. How do you record stuff that heavy with so little noise? Is it all playing style? Is it gear tricks? Do they filter their recordings to remove all of the excess noise?

One thing I'm quickly learning, it doesnt take a lot of gain to record heavy. I use way more gain with normal live playing through the Mark V, but the sacrifice is string noise. I use an ISP which helps, but I have to lower the gain quite a bit to record with little noise.

What are the tricks? (Gear, techhnique, whatever they may be?). Thanks
Record mono, one for the left side, once for the right, then to make it sound heavier you record everything more than once, so you would record maybe twice to play out of the right side, and twice to play out of the left side. Pretty much stacking it, it does make it sound more heavier, and adds punch to the tone.
Quote by Deaderzombie
Record mono, one for the left side, once for the right, then to make it sound heavier you record everything more than once, so you would record maybe twice to play out of the right side, and twice to play out of the left side. Pretty much stacking it, it does make it sound more heavier, and adds punch to the tone.

I assume when doing this, I should keep the gain way down to keep it noise free? Then by stacking them it "heavies" the tone back up? I will definitely try what you are suggesting. Is that the only trick?