I've been playing for about 4 years, and I don't practice that often. So the information in here regarding keeping unwanted noise muted--I have seen all that, tried to incorporate it as much as possible, but never spent like a month or anything working on it at any given speed.

So basically I haven't taken to time to make this 'good technique' stick, but as time goes on with me "just playing," I'm noticing i'm gaining the ability to make things sound how i want it, without thinking too hard about it--in fact, if i START thinking about HOW i should put my hand on the strings to produce a certain sound (or to mute a certain string) instead of just "doing it," it's usually way worse.

So anyway, on to my question: i want to make sure that this self-learned betterness isn't actually wrong technique... you see, when my playing sounds the best, I actually end up muting a bunch of noise with the side of my thumb on my picking hand, as i go down to pluck a note. My palm is involved a little bit too, but it's a lot of the thumb. Not so much my fretting hand either, although i keep that one on the strings as much as possible, when possible.

It is okay to use one's thumb in this way?

I think I picked it up while trying to learn pinch-harmonics...

And my second question:

in this lick:
e|-------------------------------------|
B|-------------------------------------|
G|-------------------------------------|
D|-------------------------------------|
A|-2---1-2---1-----1-2-----2-1-----1-2-|
E|-3-0-2-3-0-2-0-0-2-3-0-0-3-2-0-0-2-3-|

how do you go about muting the 4 top strings? My fretting hand has to be positioned in such a way as to let the A string ring out, which means i can't get any contact on those strings, and obviously since they're the high strings, my picking hand is out of position.