Been playing for over 3 years, and I've noticed that I tend to gravitate towards playing lead. In my band I have to do both, but that's neither here nor there.

Question is, does anyone find themselves better at lead than good rythym? In other words, able to play fast, accurate, crazy licks, but kinda weak on chord progressions, strumming patterns, etc.

It seems to be the general opinion that if you're good at lead, you must by default be good at rythym, but such is not the case with me. Just looking for other's input...
often it's not about the playing, but about the writing stuff
but my lead playing is worse
I've met those kinds of players. August Burns Red is a good example. Brent is a great rhythm player, can play complex breakdowns behind a drum pattern written in a different time signature, where as J.B. plays more of the leads over it (Marianas Trench for example)

In my own regard, I'm a much stronger songwriter then lead player, but I have been playing metal for a few years, so the fast and accurate has come on it's own, but I started off by doing songwriting and rhythm.
Poop.

Yes, poop.
My dad has the same problem as you he has been playing a lot of acoustic songs lately and it's helped a little
Quote by MattAnderson111
I've met those kinds of players. August Burns Red is a good example. Brent is a great rhythm player, can play complex breakdowns behind a drum pattern written in a different time signature, where as J.B. plays more of the leads over it (Marianas Trench for example)

In my own regard, I'm a much stronger songwriter then lead player, but I have been playing metal for a few years, so the fast and accurate has come on it's own, but I started off by doing songwriting and rhythm.

Agreed, in some cases sometimes the rhythm player is even better than the lead player, but that's rare of course. :P
this is my signature, and it's purple in bold, you can't do anything about it.