Hey guys, I'm sure everyone here has met with a roadblock or a point where you just dont know how to improve. Well, I'm here right now FYI I had a teacher in my first year but then quit due to some inferiority complex... I used to think how you are "better" if you self-taught, but I do regret that now, I know I will be far from what I am today if I continued.

Long story short, I found it difficult to self-teach, because I dont know what is the next step for me. I know learning the guitar can be considered an open book, but I'd prefer a general pathway to follow or something :/

How did you guys overcome this mental roadblock?
Hi, I'm new to guitar too (1 month :P), and I've been in that position too. Don't pay too much attention to what I say since I'm a newbie, but I've read some replies related to this.

Heres a general idea of what they said in my own words:

Play what suits you. What kind of music to you listen to, and play that kind of genre, or a genre that you would like to play. Play an easy song to keep you out of depression (not being able to play anything really hits you mentally) as well as some "would like to be able to play this song" one. When a song is hard, its probably because your missing some sort of technique, and you must master it to play the song correctly. That means you have something new to learn! At the same time as having fun playing a song of your choosing.

I'm sure more experienced guitar players will be here soon, but keep this is mind for now.

~guitar noobie
Quote by Acousticmon
Hey guys, I'm sure everyone here has met with a roadblock or a point where you just dont know how to improve. Well, I'm here right now FYI I had a teacher in my first year but then quit due to some inferiority complex... I used to think how you are "better" if you self-taught, but I do regret that now, I know I will be far from what I am today if I continued.