The twist being I know what sound I'm actually looking for! How freaking awesome is that.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6rgMiZu-9Es

THIS. Hughes And Kettner Switchblade. I could seriously pop wood over this if it wasn't 4:30 in the morning and I wasn't half asleep already. Problem. I don't exactly have a thousand bucks to shell out. My girlfriend wants to help me upgrade from the spider 3 I've been playing constantly for the past 5 years or so. I understand for boutique tube amp quality I'm gonna be paying tube amp price, but I don't think I can push past 600. Even that's going to take me a good minute. The local GC here only really stocks up on marshalls, fenders, peaveys, vox's, and line 6's. Y'know, the ever so popular Marshall line plus every lousy modeller under the sun. No disrespect, but I've had it with modelling amps. I want an amp that has its' own unique sound. The kind of amp that $300-450 solid state modellers WISH they could be.

Looking for a modern high-gain tube amplifier, at least 20W, preferably combo but if the head AND cab check out for under $600 I can live with that. Will be throwing a TS9 or equivalent in front of it. Looking for a smooth, warm gain. Not distortion, gain. No fuzz, good hefty amount of low-end punch without being overly dark, bright clean treble, and a mellow warm mid-range behind it all that I don't have to scoop (before you jump down my throat claiming you never have to scoop, play a spider 3 for 5 years on high gain and tell me that amps' mids sound anything better than fork in a garbage disposal. Then I'll admit I'm wrong.)