Page 1 of 2
Hello,
Now, I am going to share with you one of my biggest secrets - I am afraid of tuning my guitar. You wouldn't understand at your first go so bear with me on this one. I am afraid of tuning my guitar because I am afraid of breaking a string. I have been playing for 2 years now but still I am afraid of tuning my guitar so much I avoid it as far as possible. I mean I keep my guitar tuned at 1 step down so i can avoid tightening the strings so much. I can't overcome this stupid fear. I always think I'm gonna hurt myself or my things. I need some advice or a free service-guy who can replace and tune my strings.

I'd be really grateful if you spare some advice.

PS: I want to know if any one else has this fear too, or is it just me?

Thanks.
How many times have you tuned your guitar in those two years...? No idea why you'd be worried. If you break a string, get a new one.
████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
Man the **** up fool.

But yeah, sometimes i get a little nervous tuning my high E in case it snaps and takes me eye with it, but it can take it. It's what it was born to do...
Quote by Rocker007
Blackrat has won this thread. That is an awsome post.

This was posted right after I posted said post in a completely different thread... Whups.

"There are 3 types of people in this world... Those who can count, and those who can't."
Yeah, I keep my guitar at drop C and only tune my lower string up (and sometimes down) a step, and just use the pitch-shift effect on my amp to change the tunings.

I'm fine with making small changes so my guitar isn't out of tune, but I generally never make changes within a tone up.
Ergh... I hate tuning my high e string right after changing strings... But they don't just break man.