I've been playing bass for a couple years now with most of my background in blues and funk. Im really diggin the funk but i feel like my limited knowledge of theory and scales are holding me back. I play my funk on the pentatonic scale and I've already gotten to know the major/minor scale. When I jam i tend to keep my hand fixed on the first position (ex. i play the A pent. on the 5th fret and usually stay there). I dont know if i feel like I'm limited because the scale feels a certain way or because the position of said scale feels that way.

Is there any mode i should learn that you think has a particularly funkier feel than the other or that you prefer over others?
Or should I try a pentatonic scale at different positions before I go mode crazy.
Last edited by Rapt at Mar 28, 2011,
Modes are always a great way to get out of a rut. Also try thinking about the actual notes not just the hand position. It'll allow you to move around the neck a lot easier giving a wider range.
Quote by bassmanjoe08
Dan

Don't stop being you <3

Quote by fatgoogle
I think after this relentless adding for the last 10 mins, that Dan is the coolest looking. Goddamn welsh people and my great etc etc etc etc etc granddad is welsh.
Along with knowing what the actual notes as Dan has said, start practicing those scales in different ways. Play all the notes in the scale from the lowest note on your bass to the highest you can go. (on an A minor pentatonic, you would start with a low E on a 4 string bass). Play your scales in arpeggiated chords, or in broken thirds, fourths and fifths.
Edit: skater dan0 & anarkee... well said

OP, I wont duplicate what they said... I'll go a diffrent direction.

"I bet I can name one scale you never practice. The Chromatic scale, It's the easiest and hardest. Chroma means color... if you want to add color to your playing, add the chromatic scale" ~ Victor Wooten/Anthony Wellington "the groove workshop".