What's good everyone,
I need some advice regarding a new setup I plan on saving up for. I'm currently a guitarist but I am about to make a switch to the bass for a few reasons. I'm mainly making the switch so I can find a group easier. Since there are too many guitar players out there, being in a group and looking for a guitarist won't be an issue. It's the complete opposite when it comes to finding a bass player. Let alone a talented one. So with that said, I plan on saving a lot for a new setup but I could use some advice as to what I should save up for. What I'm most concerned about is the quality of sound while playing live sets. I have my eyes set on a Fender Jazz and an Acoustic amplifier. But the thing is there are different models that are similar but the price difference almost doubles the lower end models. For instance, the MIM Fender Jazz is 600 and the MIA is 1200. Also the B200h half stack is 549 and the b600h half stack is 1000. Is there a difference in sound between these four products? If the difference isn't remarkable then I would like to save some money and go for the cheaper options. At the same time I feel like spending the extra bucks would be a lot more worth it later on down the line. Any information regarding either the amplifier or the guitar than your advice would be greatly appreciated. Also please no flaming, you can call me a failed guitarist, whatever I really don't care because I'm confident in my personal style and although I may be considered "average" I've worked hard over the past years to have the knowledge about what I do.
Thanks
The U.S.A.-made Basses generally have much higher build quality, but sometimes you'll find a "diamond in the rough" Mexican bass.