Hey guys/girs,

I learned a lot about proper support lately, I'm now using my diaphragm, I can sing without hurting my voice, so far it feels great... I was mostly singing from my throat before...

I still have this problem that I'm not quite sure how to approach longer phrases. So how do you approach longer phrases, what do you do to not loose air too soon?

I guess that for longer phrases/sentences you don't want to inhale more air, cause that will usually blow out your voice, you will oversupport it, it's more like yelling then singing when I do that for me... so I guess inhaling more air is not the solution... so what do you do when you have longer phrase to sing? Any tips or examples would be great!

Tnx
Hey Speed,
Quote by Speedhand
So how do you approach longer phrases, what do you do to not loose air too soon?
It's kind of strange for me to answer this, since I have the same problem. I am a beginner, so I can only tell you what my tutor tells me (over and over :-7 ). There are a few things actually.

When you sing, especially higher notes, you should sing against your soft palate. It's this very smooth tissue you feel when you lift the flat part of your tongue against the back of your mouth.

Here's a picture where it's pointed out:
http://www.cancervic.org.au/images/CISS/cancer-types/mouth_neck.gif
(Is it me or does this guy look like a young Paul McCartney?)

My teacher sometimes asks me to make it vibrate. It kind of sounds like Donald Duck laughing, or like making a very wet rrrr-sound. It took me the better part of two months to effectively use it while singing and I still regularly forget about using it. It's tricky. The advantage (next to sounding better) is that less air passes through your throat, since it is partially blocked by this soft tissue.