Hello.

I'm a beginner at guitar; playing on and off for the past 7 years.

I only started getting serious at learning and the past 2 weeks I've been doing nothing but:

|-----------------------------------------1-2-3-4-|
|---------------------------------1-2-3-4---------|
|-------------------------1-2-3-4-----------------|
|-----------------1-2-3-4-------------------------|
|---------1-2-3-4---------------------------------|
|-1-2-3-4-----------------------------------------|

Then moving up till I get to the 12th fret then reversing the exercise. I do this for about 20 times a day. I haven't tried playing songs. My forearm hurt after the practice.

My short term goal is to be able to play "Summer Song" by Satch.
My long term goal is "Scarified" by Racer X.

Also, I don't know whether to use big thick picks that are out of my comfort zone or use the equipment that's just right for my taste. The way I understand the more you use thicker heavier picks, the easier it'll be when you switch to paper thin picks. I love using paper thin picks about .4-.5 range.
Last edited by Re1Mu2R3 at Mar 31, 2011,
If you love paper thin picks, use paper thin picks. I do that warm up too, but I go until I run out of frets, then back down, the start on the opposite E string.
Summer song seems good to learn for someone whos been on-off for 7 yrs. Go for it!
I'm up for building you a pedal.
(Or modding nearly anything moddable)
(PM Me.)
Dude, play songs.
Pamposh’s final question before drifting into a state of transcendent ecstasy was, “But Master, if everything is an illusion, then why does anything matter?”

To which the master replied, “It may all be an illusion, but it’s a very real illusion.”
if your forearm hurts then you may be pressing too hard.... but also play songs, they will help you just as much or more than this exercise, this exercise is nothing better than a finger independence exercise not really a guitar playing exercise....