I've been playing bass for my church for a few months now, but I'm stuck in the root chord rut and really can't do much of anything to liven up the music or really do anything when the drummer goes on a fill rampage. I have occasionally managed to do a little bit, but it's very minimal and I can only apply it to very few songs.

Now, I know scales--all our music is either Major or Minor scale, and I know both. I know my 3rds, 5ths, 6ths, 7ths, and octaves. Yet I can't do anything with them.

One major problem is that, of all the bass lessons I've watched/read, none of them cover the stuff I want to do (which I will explain below), nor do I know the musical term for these......things.

Here's what I'm talking about:

1. Fills before playing a chord. Let's say a pre-chorus ends in a D chord. The chorus begins with an A chord. (This is from the song "Time Has Come" from Hillsong United). The bassist plays an exchange of notes before playing the A.

2(a). Fills between chords/linking chords together. Let's say I'm playing an A chord, and the next chord is a F#m (also from "Time Has Come"). The bassist plays a short exchange of notes while changing from the A to the F#m.

2(b). Linking chords together in slower songs. I'm stuck playing whole notes, which is very boring and sounds awkward to me. I've tried playing parts of a scale to link the notes together but it rarely works.

So, what are these called, where do they come from, and how do I do them?
well, being a guitarist who plays a bit of bass, i can only suggest listening to techniques and trying to copy them. Maybe try adding 'substitute' chords in between, say for that D to A exchange, add notes from a Bm and Em before getting to the A (classic I vi ii V approach). Or look at things from a chromatic perspective and add more of a walking bassline?
My Gear:
Gibson Faded Flying V
"Dante's Inferno" Iceman
Fender Hot Rod Deluxe 112
etc.

Quote by freedoms_stain