Ok - I started playing guitar yesterday - i have the basic chords down such as - D - G - A - C ect... And im wondering where to go next? learning songs? Stumming patterns in details? Urgh! Help?
depends on what your goals are. if you want to strum chords to play songs, i suggest you practice going from one chord to the next slowly till the changes are very smooth.
Quote by Skeet UK
I just looked in my Oxford English Dictionary and under "Acoustic Guitar", there was your Avatar and an email address!
Wow, you're doing pretty well for starting so recently!

I agree, it depends on what your goals are. Are you working with an instructor who can help you with some good goals?

Maybe pick a song you like and see if you can get a guitar book made by a company who has that song it or others that you like? For example, I like Fleetwood Mac so I am using Fleetwood Mac's Easy Guitar book by Hal Leonard. My instructor recommended a Hal Leonard book and I think they are good.

Congrats on doing so well and keep on playing!
Learn from yesterday, live for today, HOPE for tomorrow.

Courage is grace under pressure.

Don't give up!

Illustrious acts high RAPTURES do infuse, and every conqueror creates a muse.
work on barre chords! the shapes you learn will be able to move all around the neck. it will expand your ability to play those chords on several parts of the neck. Also, you really should work on the open chords. after one day i really doubt that you can switch quickly between them all. maybe learn your power chords and the root notes on the neck so you know what to call them? practice practice practice and good luck!!!
I would stay away from barre chords for now, they're a bitch to learn and you've only been playing a day, they will do nothing but demotivate you.