So I can play the instruments and get them all into reaper but after that I'm completely new to all this technical stuff so can someone help me get a foot in the door by explaining how I can mix and eq my drums bass and lead and rhythm guitar parts to blend nicely? Also for the drums I'm using ezdrummer.
Mixing - balancing the relative volume and frequency content of a number of sound sources. Typically, these sound sources are the different musical instruments in a band or the sections of an orchestra.

There's no one way to mix and eq. What may work for one mix may not work for another. That's why you shouldn't ever take stock in presets. That said...

Make sure the sound is great at the source. The player needs to be tight and the tone needs to be decent.

Take a listen to one of your favorite mixes. If it's a good mix, try to figure out why it's a good mix. Also it may be good to listen to a bad mix. It helps you stay away what they potentially did wrong.

Another good tip I learned is with each guitar track, start with a high pass filter at around 70 Hz and a low pass at around 12k Hz. Play with these numbers to get an overall sound. These filters take out the frequencies unneeded for guitar (guitar is mostly a mid ranged instrument).

I'm kinda busy and really tired atm so I'm going to stop there for now.
Last edited by Meelad360 at Mar 31, 2011,
Well what I'm asking is how should I go about EQing. I can play the instruments fine enough but ive been told to pan one track to the left and all this other stuff ect I just don't know where to even get started. What should I be looking for in an eq. Is their a guide that can help me?
Quote by ibugppl
Well what I'm asking is how should I go about EQing. I can play the instruments fine enough but ive been told to pan one track to the left and all this other stuff ect I just don't know where to even get started. What should I be looking for in an eq. Is their a guide that can help me?