I've been playing for about 4 years now, I took lessons from a great teacher but he didn't actually do very much except give me songs to play, never explained techniques or anything. I had to cancel those lessons for a reason completely unrelated to the above, and my ESP's floyd rose screws stripped so decided to just buy a whole new one. So while I'm waiting for that for 2 weeks (it hasn't been working for probably a month now, so I've probably forgotten most of what I've learned)I was thinking, holy shit for having played this long I really really suck. I practice from the time I get home, to the time I sleep, then the time I wake up to the time I have to leave. I've never gotten any better, if I keep practicing one song for a month I can get pretty OK at it, but I can't do anything normal people can do. I look at music or a tab and it takes me forever to learn it, almost everyone I know just looks at it and starts playing perfectly right away. Granted those people have been playing for more than 10 years, but I'd still think I could at least play it, I can't even play half the speed most of the time.

I have a horrible sense of timing, I guess that's part of it. How can I make it better?
And how do I get better faster than... no improvement in 3 years I guess?
What song did you learn? maybe your learning music that doesn't suit your style
I've learned a billion songs. From Good Riddance - Green Day, to Turncoat - Anti-Flag, to Stadium Arcadium - RHCP.
You might be trying to learn something to advanced for your abilities. In addition, you might want to re-evaluate the *way* you practice instead of practicing for 6 hours a day (not that thats a bad thing). If you practice that much and see no improvement, you are not practicing efficiently enough.
What?! There's a clean channel on my amp?!

Quote by GoodOl'trashbag
omfg i totally forgot about that, you sir are jesus christ.
The best advice I can offer is to look for another teacher