ok guys so next year when i start highschool im gonna audition for jazz band . And the thing is i know nothing about the jazz playing style except that theres alot of tempo changes during songs . Jazz is uncharted territory for me but im a pretty good guitarist at blues,rock and such. So Guys give me advice and tips for me to work on over the summer so i can prepare.

I must note that im currently learning how to read sheet music and im in advanced music theory guitar lessons if thats what you want to call them .. So guys help me out
"L'etat C'est Moi"
2010 Ltd.Gibson SG Standard 60's
Steinberger Spirit Deluxe
Roland CUBE 80XL
Fender Mim Stratocaster
Fender CD60CE Acoustic
Quote by Sean0913
Learn your guitar really well, start on ii V I.

If the key changes know how to respond to it. Jazz playing is not for the musically weak. It will expose you faster than any genre I know.

Best,

Sean

Thanks man , Can you throw out a link to a website or video that can help GRASP the idea of jazz style

thanks'

Stone
"L'etat C'est Moi"
2010 Ltd.Gibson SG Standard 60's
Steinberger Spirit Deluxe
Roland CUBE 80XL
Fender Mim Stratocaster
Fender CD60CE Acoustic
Well, being in a Jazz band, know the basic Major, Minor, and Dominant chords. This also Major 7th and Minor 7th. Whether they be barre chords or whatever, know them. Also be comfortable improvising over basic progressions. Being in a Jazz Band as a guitarist, you will most likely be in the rhythm section (you will be). Parts you will be asked to play will look like stuff like this F13 (#11) or Eb/Fmin 7 (sounds horrible I know). This is a basic outline of the chords the whole band is playing. Instead of playing the whole chord, (some of the notes clash horribly with notes the band is playing) play it as Dominant, Major or Minor. Stick to that unless your director says different.