I'm just a beginner (only been playing for 6 days). I saw these Rocktron Zombie pedals for sale and they look pretty good. But is that as cheap as it gets? I'm really low on cash.
You can pick up a digitech death metal used for 20-25 bucks, or a dod distortion runs cheap used too.
The zombie rectifier from rocktron is a decent pedal but best used with a full tube amp, it wont sound to great with a ss amp.
If youve only been playing 6 days maybe look into a multi effects pedal like a digitech rp series.
My gear-
Schecter C-1 Classic
Mesa Boogie 2 Ch. Dual Rectifier(blackface)
And some pedals

For sale Minty Ibanez RGA7 seven string with tour grade hsc $330+s/h or best offer!
PM me if interested

R.I.P Ashley S. Jean
Last edited by slipknot_420 at Apr 2, 2011,
first of all, it is better to play clean as beginner so u don't become a sloppy player as distortion can disguise your mistakes. If you ignore this advice, look at Boss, behringer and digitech pedals. u can pick up a behringer for like 15 buck in usa. they are about 50 bucks in australia if u live in australia or us. boss and digitech are a step higher.
Quote by fretshredda
first of all, it is better to play clean as beginner so u don't become a sloppy player as distortion can disguise your mistakes. If you ignore this advice, look at Boss, behringer and digitech pedals. u can pick up a behringer for like 15 buck in usa. they are about 50 bucks in australia if u live in australia or us. boss and digitech are a step higher.

Yea you should play clean as a beginner but seriously if metal is what hes interested in he will prob lose intrest fast only playing clean, at least I know I would have.
I took lessons From the age of 10-14 for the first 2 years all my lessons were playing on the clean ch. and tuned to standard, then the last 2 we ventured more into what I was interested in.
But when I was at home jamming I tuned down and played straight metal!
My gear-
Schecter C-1 Classic