Hey, This is my first time buying an acoustic guitar. I have an electric, and I've been playing for a around a year. I just want something I can take places, but can also play on stage with, in a more acoustic fashion.

So, definitely an acoustic electric guitar. I've been to my local guitar center and was able to check some things off I want in a guitar:

1. Low Action, and stable tuning / good sustain - This is important to me

2. "Steel" string sound - I tried a guitar out, and it wasn't a steel string guitar, but it had that "crunchy" acoustic type of sound. If that makes any sense...

3. Price range of $200 to $300

4. Cut away body - Even if it doesn't increase the range of playing, it's more comfortable to me, and it looks nicer in my opinion.

5. A nice finish is always a plus, but not needed.

I did find favor in an Ibanez when I was testing out some guitars, the tone was great.
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Ibanez-AEG20E-Flamed-Sycamore-Top-Acoustic-Electric-Guitar-103036620-i1166458.gc

I didn't get a chance to try anything else out I liked, so thats all I'm basing off right now.

Thanks
~~~...:::My Gear:::...~~~
~.:.ESP LTD H-1001FM.:.~
~.:.Peavey Vypyr 15W.:.~
~.:.DigiTech RP355.:.~
~.:.Roland MicroCube.:.~
If you don't like phosphor/bronze strings, then you can always replace them with steel strings.
Diesel Weasel - you're in a rough price range because of the cutaway but even so i wouldn't recommend an ibanez acoustic. in my personal opinion, they focus on looks rather than build quality or tone, and haven't impressed me.

you might consider this fender. it has a solid top, which you want if at all possible as it allows for more vibration in the top, leading to better tone. it's available in black or natural, and while fender isn't my fave brand of acoustic, this is a pretty nice guitar.
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Fender-CD140SCE-Acoustic-Electric-Guitar-H70147-i1709798.gc