I could have stuck this in the car thread but i think it's more to do with driving than cars.

I have been driving legally for almost 5 years now (in NZ we can get our learners license at 15) and consider myself to be quite a good safe driver (I've never crashed). I mainly taught myself how to drive and never really thought about it until recently but I have a question regarding driving a manual.

When stopped at traffic lights (not on a steep hill) do you leave your car in gear (1st) and hold your feet on both the brake and clutch?

Or when stopped do you take it out gear (into neutral) and take your foot off the clutch leaving just one foot on the brake?

Is one better than the other? Is one of these wrong? Is one more fuel/engine efficient? Do you do it another way? Or does it not matter which of these methods you use?

Cheers in advance
Strange, It seems like a character mutation, Though I have all the means, of bringing you fuckers down, I can't make myself, To destroy upon command, Somehow forgiveness, lets the evil make a loss - Danger Mouse/Sparklehorse/Wayne Coyne
Last edited by walkingminstral at Apr 2, 2011,
I drive automatic.

>___>
[img]http://i.imgur.com/LYZyCdp.gif[/img]

Quote by CrossBack7
Momie's like not even a real person, just an asian, lesbian spirit.
Quote by Momentosis
I drive automatic.

>___>

FTW.
When you saw me sleeping
thought I was dreaming
of you...

I didn't tell you
That the only dream
Is Valium for me
My car is automatic but the few times I've driven a manual I kept it at 1st gear whenever I was stopped. I don't know what the pros and cons are or anything.
It's all a matter of preference.

Personally, if I'm coming up to a stop light, most of the time I'll throw my car down into neutral as I cruise up and press my brake until I stop; my foot is off the clutch as well.