I've been playing guitar for a couple years and I I've always knew my timing is horrendous, but now I want to fix that. How do you guys do it? What process goes through your head? I know your all going to say use a metronome which is pretty obvious but if I try to play a song with a metronome I have no idea where to begin. How do you guys know how long each note should be and things like that? Please help me out here.
Before learning a song from tabs n stuff I always ensure I know the song inside out first - I get a real feel for the song that way and stuff like rhythm and even improvising come much easier.
Quote by funkymonk1985
Before learning a song from tabs n stuff I always ensure I know the song inside out first - I get a real feel for the song that way and stuff like rhythm and even improvising come much easier.

this.

listening to music is just as important as practicing it
Fender CP Jazzmaster
Fender MIM HSS Strat
Whammy
Crybaby
Zvex Fuzz Factory
Proco Rat
EHX Big Muff USA
EHX Deluxe Electric Mistress
EHX Small Clone
EHX Pulsar Tremolo
Boss RE 20 Space Echo
Ernie Ball VP Jr
Fender Frontman 65R
As well as listening to the song to get the feel, using guitar pro helps with that, as well as a backing track, and most important of all if you have the backing track: tapping your foot to the beat, it's sooo handy, started doing it and all my timing issues went out the window.

If you're playing metal, headbanging helps too, not only does it help with presence, but you will subconsciously do it perfectly in time.
Counting/subdividing tends to move to a subconscious level once you've gotten good at keeping time. That's not to say that you'll never tap your foot, bob your head, or count eighths/sixteenths for a syncopated passage ever again once you've become proficient, but for the most part you can listen and keep time without actively thinking about it.

How do you guys know how long each note should be and things like that?