So, lately I've been getting that urge to spend vast amounts of money on basses, so, being a fender fanboy, I have been browsing shops, fender's website and eBay for pretty basses, haha.

I have also been toying with the idea of modding my old MIM P bass as I don't use it anymore, because i can't stand the neck (both the way it looks and the way it plays).
I am fairly new to modding basses, I'm looking to change the neck and pickups, and I'm not quite sure where to start. I've had a look on warmoth for a P or J neck, but don't like the idea of losing the fender stamp on the headstock (purely because I absolutely love the look of the decal).
I am also not really sure what pickups to get if I decide to mod the bass. I play a wide range of things, but mostly rock/pop-punk and metal, so something that gives a dirty, crunchy tone would be great.

So I was hoping to get some input as to whether it would be worth modding the bass, and if so, what parts would be best to pick up.

cheers
My Setup:
Fender Aerodyne Jazz Bass,
Fender USA Jazz Bass
Hartke LH1000,
Hartke Hydrive 410,
Sansamp BDDI,
Electro-harmonix Black Finger Compressor.
Just get a new bass.
Quote by Trowzaa
what specs is your pc? like how much ram?

Quote by Hydra150
[IMG]http://images.fineartamerica.com/images-medium-large-5/three-rams-steve-mckinzie.jpg[/IMG]

Quote by eGraham
3 ram, nice

I would say get a new one, you can get some pretty decent assembly kits if you know where to look. I think you should get one of those and build it before you start modding your old one, because you run quite a risk to destroy a good bass otherwise.
Just google around for example "P Bass Assembly kit and you'll probably find something good. Remember not to get the cheapest sh*t 'cause you're never gonna play it, but also don't buy something too expensive, just in case you f*ck something up.