Long story short, I realized that the E Spanish Gypsy scale which I learned a while ago has the same notes as the A Harmonic Minor! How come no one ever told me this?! Why do they have different names when their the same thing? All someone has to do is know the harmonic minor scale and if they want to switch to spanish gypsy, then move the pattern up/down five steps, vice versa, if that makes any sense...
Are there other scales that have the same name?

Also, like I said, I'm not a theory expert, but what's confusing about modes? I googled them and found that they are just parts of the major scale. They just start on different notes of the major scale, am I right? Of course, it'll take a while to master things like phrasing to make each modes personality come out, but would that be a good way of explaining them? just to see if im completely lost or not

sorry for the long post, i read a whole lot more on here than post.. thanks
short answer is yes.

modes can be simply put as scales being played over chords/keys. if you play a G major scale over a G major progression, its in G Ionian. if you play a C major scale over the same progression, its in G mixolydian. as such, you can see that the scales can be different than the modes, and are dependent on the chords/key that is behind them.
My Gear:
Gibson Faded Flying V
"Dante's Inferno" Iceman
Fender Hot Rod Deluxe 112
etc.

Quote by freedoms_stain
I can't imagine anything worse than shagging to Mark Knopfler.

Maybe shagging Mark Knopfler, but that's about it.