Hello six string brother. I'm primarily a bassist but I'm looking to buy a guitar just for funsies. I.e. jamming along to songs at home, never live. Here's what I'm after:

-Good sounding.
-Easily modifiable, I like messing around.
-Versatile. I'm not sure whether that means variety in pickups or a preamp. Do guitars have preamps? :/
-CHEAP, <£250ish
-Not pointy and not red. (I'm never usually picky about colours but it seems I always end up with red gear...)

I've played several "high end" Squier basses and they've all been very impressive for the price so would a CV Squier guitar be good too?

I'm asking this rather than going for any old thing because I do have a good ear for tone yet I never really know where to start with guitars, also different brands do guitars and basses differently, i.e. Epiphone might make good guitars but their basses are abysmal.

Any suggestions of brands and models would be great, thanks.

(p.s. I've previously owned an Epiphone Les Paul Custom that was a few hundred too expensive for me to keep. So I'm not a total n00b at guitar and I already have a decent practise amp.)
Last edited by Spaz91 at Apr 5, 2011,
The classic vibe squiers are VERY good, easy the best guitar in that price range!

I bought a Classic vibe tele 50's a few months back and its just great!
I'd recommend going to a guitar center or sam ash and just trying out a bunch in your price range, but yes, CV's are definitely a good choice.

And to answer your question on versatility, I've never heard of a guitar with a preamp built in, but as far as pickups go, the main two are single coil and humbucker. Make sure you try both of them out. Single coil usually give's that "strat"-ey sound a la David Gilmour, whereas humbuckers have a punchier tone a la Jimmy Page. If you're going for metal, maybe check out something with active pickups, although those are usually more expensive.