It's quite convenient that this forum was made since I intend on learning to play soon.

Just to explain, I'm a complete and utter beginner at drumming and know nothing whatsoever about good brands, price ranges and what's considered a good drum kit. My budget is around £200 ($300) and I just need a 5-piece drum kit suitable for entry-level.

Are there any particular brands/kits you'd recommend? As I said, I'm completely new to this and have nought knowledge regarding buying my first drum kit and I don't want to make the same mistake as other instruments I've picked up by buying a poor-quality instrument and having trouble learning.

Any suggestions & guidance would be appreciated much.
The CB kits are not too bad.

Keep in mind though, unless tuned well, most of these aren't that good, much like a squier guitar
You can take a look at Westbury kits, I think they're pretty good for the price.
squire ain't that bad of guitars.

first of all, you have to know that 300$ ain't a lot of money to spend on a drum kit. so you'd be best of finding a Tama Imperialstar for that money. those are good to begin with, considering your cymbals won't be so good.

i've recently purchased a drumcraft series 4 to start to play on, in combination with sabian B8 cymbals. it's a little bit more pricy, (about 560£, but you'd like it more in the long run) another brand i would advice is Gretsch (blackhawk or catalina type)

Greets (sorry for my bad english)
Drum drum drum away!
I know that it's not a lot to spend on a drum kit, but I'm not that good at drumming and I'm only in the learning stages and I've not yet decided to pick this up as something serious, so I don't think it would be responsible if I spent a large amount of money on a drum kit if I can barely drum.

Thanks for the suggestions guys! I'll be sure to do some research.
I've heard good things about pdp. I was recommended them when I was getting my first kit and had the same budget as you.