View poll results: Electoral College?
Yay
7 21%
Nay
21 62%
Don't give a crap
6 18%
Voters: 34.
I am writing a persuasive speech for school and I chose to write one about why the Electoral College system of choosing a president in the United States should be replaced with a plain popular vote.

I'm not asking for homework help, I'm just curious as to how the Pit feels on this issue. Do you like the current system, want a new system, or are you just indifferent? Personally, I don't care for the Electoral College and I have my reasons, I just want to see the reasons people have for liking or disliking it.

I'm a noob so I'll try and add a poll too, but thanks for giving this a look.
With the little political knowledge I have, it seems pretty damn stupid.
Honk
as long as we have the electoral college, technically every vote doesnt count

down with it!
"The man that hath no music in himself, nor is not moved with concord of sweet sounds, is fit for treasons, stratagems, and spoils. The motions of his spirit are dull as night, and his affections dark as Erebus. Let no such man be trusted."
I don't like it because it's not democratic. Plain and simple.
Check out my band Disturbed
When it was first implemented, it was great. A nation that was so inefficiently connected needed something like the Electoral College to make sure votes were counted. In our current situation, however, we do not need that middle-man, and we would be better off without it.
Quote by jimmy hendrix 2
Don't argue with my new deity.
Quote by Swannie
as long as we have the electoral college, technically every vote doesnt count

down with it!

That's kind of how I feel. If you live in a Red/Blue state that will vote with a particular party regardless of who is running, it makes you feel as if your vote doesn't really make a difference.

This is also my way of shamelessly bumping my thread back up for more views