So I've been playing for the last two months pretty much every day now, usually 1-2 hrs a day, sometimes more, sometimes less, and at first I exponentially increased my technique and ability to play; however, now, it seems I'm stuck in a rut technique wise, and I don't know how to get out. Songs I want to learn are too technical for me to get right every time at very slow bpms (40bpm for instance), so i find myself going back to beginner songs and picking them up quickly.

Here's what I consider that I can play reasonably well that are indicative of my skill level:

Pentatonic Scales in all keys and all positions except keys where I have to backtrack positions (ie 4, 5, 1, 2 3 position orders) (i'm working on it)
Norwegian Wood
Blackbird
Here Comes The Sun
Smells like Teen Spirit
Sweet Child O' Mine intro
Welcome home intro
Misery Business verse/intro
First part of pirates of the Caribbean theme
Rock And Roll by Zeppelin (decently), verse etc (no solo)
Black Dog intro
Crazy Train intro
Pinball Wizard verse etc
Unholy Confessions intro

I'd really like to learn much more technical stuff, and I've tried slowing it down but I just can't get it to sound right at all. I guess you could say I'm stuck and I don't know how to bridge the gap between beginner to intermediate. What can I learn/do? I also have a lot of trouble focusing into learn a full song if it's not the same pattern over and over again. I seem to get lost in the music trying to learn most songs past the intro. The tab just becomes gibberish either cause I cannot hear the music or it just doesn't make sense to me. I have a copy of tabtoolkit for ipad and i use it but it doesn't really help me that much. How do you guys work to learn FULL songs?
Last edited by StanleyBaby! at Apr 7, 2011,