Heey everyone,
I have a very important question to ask. See I've been playing guitar for 5 years now and bass for a year and a half... I was wondering, to progress my playing skills, should I pick one song and stick with it?

The songs I have chosen, are:

Prequel to the Sequel - Between The Buried and Me (Bass)
C'est La Vie - Protest the Hero (Guitar)
Kiss Me - New Found Glory (Guitar and Vocals)

For practice routine. I have none. When ever I try I have no idea what to start to warm up with. My old teacher would tell me to start off with a C major scale. I forget a lot of what he said... I always had problems with syncopation. Is there any sort of exercises I can do for 5 to 10 minutes that will help me with ear training and syncopation?

After warming up, I want to tackle new material. But I don't know how. Do I take each section and practice it for 5 minutes then move on? or do I try and play the whole song slowly and pick it up each week to get faster and faster?

After tackling new material, I want to just noodle around or play stuff I already know how to play?

Can anyone suggest an improved practice routine thats worked for them or if they see anything they can change about mine?
Last edited by Tyewatson at Apr 8, 2011,
Dude, this is like, the most complicated question ever. You haven't told us what we really need to know. What do you want to do in music?

I mean, do you want to be a professional guitarist or do you want to just be able to strumg some chords and impress some chicks?

Judging by the fact you've been playing for 5 years and you're interested in starting a practice routine, then I assume you want to be more serious about it. This is the kinda stuff I would suggest: It's all about excercises. Think of a weight lifter: