Hi, I'm 13 and kind of new to this website, I've been playing guitar for about 2 years now and have my own youtube webshow.

Anyways I wanted some help on picking a guitar for my buddy. He's a (somewhat) experienced guitar player with a crummy guitar, I wanted to get him a good guitar that fits his musical interests (mostly alternative, brit pop and hard rock) the only guitars I can think of that are good for all three are the Ibanez JEM and the Gibson Les Paul, both of which cost a FORTUNE!

If there's anyone out there who can help me please do thanks in advance
Quote by slashermaster
Hi, I'm 13 and kind of new to this website, I've been playing guitar for about 2 years now and have my own youtube webshow.

Anyways I wanted some help on picking a guitar for my buddy. He's a (somewhat) experienced guitar player with a crummy guitar, I wanted to get him a good guitar that fits his musical interests (mostly alternative, brit pop and hard rock) the only guitars I can think of that are good for all three are the Ibanez JEM and the Gibson Les Paul, both of which cost a FORTUNE!

If there's anyone out there who can help me please do thanks in advance

check out Epiphone, Gibson brand guitars made in China and Korea. Their mid to high end stuff can be very good. I've got an Epiphone Tony Iommi G-400 ($599) and I love it.
I'm just giving an example of an epiphone guitar that I can vouche for. I'm sure they have other guitars of similar quality.
Quote by slashermaster
its me that's buying it for him so 1,000 is basically my max

Wow, that's a huge budget! So many choices..
The JEM would be a great choice. I think of the Gibson Firebird, it has a
unique sound. You could try the PRS Allender out also. Then there's always
the Gibson E355..