So I'm pretty new to scales, but for the past month or 2 (i.e., after first learning the pentatonic minor all over the fretboard) whenever I improv to blues I've always just used the pentatonic minor (+ blues note...), where should the major pentatonic be used?

If you've got a I IV V, say E7 A7 B7, can you play the E pent minor OR major over it?

Thanks... Just want to know when/where it should be/is used...
Last edited by -TM- at Apr 9, 2011,
basically the idea is that you want to use the major pentatonic over any chord progessions that contains those groups of notes (generally speaking, a major key tonality for starters)
Quote by z4twenny
basically the idea is that you want to use the major pentatonic over any chord progessions that contains those groups of notes (generally speaking, a major key tonality for starters)

E minor pent = E G A B D
E major pent = C# E F# G#

(that's correct right?)

I IV V = (EG#B) + (AC#E) + (BD#F#)

right?

what are some typical chord progressions where youd use major instead of minor?
Last edited by -TM- at Apr 9, 2011,
E major pentatonic is

E F# G# B C#

you can totally use E major pentatonic over the chord progression you listed E7 A7 B7.
Last edited by z4twenny at Apr 9, 2011,
Quote by z4twenny
E major pentatonic is

E F# G# B C#

you can totally use E major pentatonic over the chord progression you listed.

Cool thanks, if instead of using E7 A7 B7, i use Emaj7 Amaj7 B7 would that also be more conducive to maj pent as opposed to min pent?
E pentatonic major is E F# G# B C#

I IV V (in E) is E (EG#B) A (AC#E) B (BD#F#)
Quote by -TM-
Cool thanks, if instead of using E7 A7 B7, i use Emaj7 Amaj7 B7 would that also be more conducive to maj pent as opposed to min pent?

it depends on the context, thats a subjective question.