Hey everyone, I just started playing yesteday. I learned a few chords, G, C, G7. thats about it... then i went here and started lookin at tabs, and ive noticed some problems im having and was wondering if anyone could help?
My problems are that I can really transition between frets. like going from fret 9 to 5 for example. Im picking at the wrong strings often. and idk what im doin for this, but i'll hit a string and it wont make any sound.
Oh, and it sound sad from what im told, but i dont understand tablature -_-
Thanks for any help, sorry if im askin a lot.
If it doesn't make a sound you might be muting the string on accident and what exactly dont you understand about tablature?
Hi, you're better than me. Have a nice day!
Sound like what happens to everybody when they first start your right on track though
and your strings go from thinnest to thickest 1,2,3,4,5,6. And the top line of the tab is 1, second line 2, third line 3, and so on

Might not be a good explanation
One of the third friendliest users
Stratkat's pet

Quote by Momentosis
Void is a wanker that's why

My problems are that I can really transition between frets.
You mean "rarely?" It's hard to understand this. Anyways, you just started playing yesterday so don't expect to be perfect on your first try. It takes practice, lots of it. If you mean going from fret 9 to fret 5 on one string, just watch your hand. Make sure you're picking correctly, and the motion is smooth. It'll come to you. If it doesn't make a sound, you're muting the string by either not pressing down hard enough with your fretting hand, or by laying your picking hand across the strings.

Tabs are easy: Lay your guitar face-up across your lap with the low E string closest to your body. Now look at your fretboard, and that's how tab is written.

e
B
G
D
A-------7---
E---5--