I paid extra for the tweed case. I'm a sucker for tweed cases.

I would've posted a pic of the whole thing but for some reason the case already has stains on it.
Last edited by Helicopters! at Apr 9, 2011,
that guitar is a bit too boxy for my liking, but to each his own

New glass [slide] day! I had been wanting one of these for a while, and I found one for a pretty good price. It was hard finding one that fit my big old fingers but this one does the job pretty well. Fits well, slides well. It's a slide; it's not that complicated. I'm still learning how to play with it but it's fun.
Now that you mention it, there was something taking up all the room in the case for my slide.

It's a Carvin Bolt

More accurately, it's their Bolt kit that I finished and assembled. I was looking at getting a Blacktop strat for a while, but then I went for this kit instead because I wanted to "build" something.

REVIEW:

Price paid: $535 total ($399 + tax, shipping, and tweed case)

First and foremost, it looks great. I did a crummy job with the painting but you can't really tell from the pictures. I used cheap-ass rattle cans and, sadly, got a cheap-looking result. At least it'll relic up really quickly, and I love relic'd guitars as long as it's real wear. (In fact, it already has a couple of chips in the finish.) I do prefer this headstock over the Stratocaster headstock.

I love, love, LOVE the middle and neck pickups. With a little bit of drive and reverb I get a gorgeous bluesy bite out of the neck pickup, and the middle pickup adds a really... glassy sound. It's hard to describe, but it's great. The bridge pickup is one of Carvin's humbuckers that I really don't care for. It sounds too thin and muddy for my tastes, but I'll be dropping a Seymour Duncan JB in there shortly which should solve my problems. The coil splitter switch is a great addition as well (that's the mini-toggle on there).