My bandmates are my best friends. I don't want to break up, so help?

About five months ago, we were offered a really good gig in our town, and in order to take it, we spent three months writing and finishing songs and practicing to ensure we'd do well. We were not a band really until the offer came up. I'm the only guitarist in the group.

I had been writing songs for a couple of years at that point, and I drew from what I considered to be my best recent music and brought it to them. We did a seven song set, with one cover in it and absolutely nailed the gig that we got. Afterwards, we took a couple week break then planned to go back to rehearsing, record a demo and capitalize on the momentum we had. When we came back though, everybody said that they had some issue or other with one of the songs, and they said they wanted to scrap four of our six songs and then write more as a group.

This is where many issues came up.

1. I write spur of the moment, often really late at night or in the early afternoon on the weekends. Sit me down at a practice and tell me to come up with parts I like and all I can play is garbage.

2. While they liked the music we played before, it wasn't exacty their forte. The songs I brought to them were indie rock in the vein of the Strokes. The drummer is a rush obsessive and the bassist loves progressive jazz and Chevelle. The only common links are that the bassist loves the strokes (who the drummer hates) and we all love the black keys/raconteurs/greenhornes kind of stuff, but don't exactly want to play it. The singer loves indie rock but doesn't involve himself in anything but "hey, that sounds good" and writing his vocals.