I've been playing around my area for a few years now in various bands and solo projects and my curren band has a gig coming up at fraternity party pretty soon. And we're thinking about opening the show with an instrumental although im kind of leary about doing this, I've never played a live instrumental much less opening a show with one. Its about 7 minutes long and im wondering about the possibilty of them losing interest.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ME7hSK9kaMg

There's a link to the song let me know what you think
So, we're talking a bunch of college/university kids. Seriously. Do you think they'd rather hear a seven minute instrumental they've never heard before, or something by, say, Franz Ferdinand?

CT
Could I get some more talent in the monitors, please?

I know it sounds crazy, but try to learn to inhale your voice. www.thebelcantotechnique.com

Chris is the king of relating music things to other objects in real life.
I wouldnt open up with an instrumental, I'd save it for somewhere near the middle of the set
Quote by MangoStarr
i think i love you
Its one thing to open up with an instrumental, but a 7 minute long one? How is that even a question? How would you like it if some band you didn't know showed up to a party and opened up with a 7 minute lone instrumental.. Or better yet, how do you think the average college student would like it? Not very much!

Play some familiar songs, thats what most people want at parties, or if your gonna play originals, stay with songs with lyrics, they're so much easier for people to understand, and perhaps even sing along to? The instrumental will just make it that much harder to get the people back in the mood if they lose interest, which they most likely will..