Hello,

I started playing guitar a couple months ago and have been working diligently on chord changes, pentatonics, bar chords, power chords, and other basics.

I'm 6'3 and have fairly large and stocky hands.

I play an Ibanez RG series with a Wizard II neck. Switching between open chords has been very difficult; I practice the changes daily, but have not made very much progress. Similarly, bar chords cause my hands to cramp and feel unnatural.

I'm not sure if it's simply getting over a newbie learning curve, or the small and flat size of the Ibanez neck makes learning these aspects of guitar difficult.

What guitar necks are good for people with large hands (interested in dark metal, black metal, and prog metal)?

Thanks
Hand cramps when using Ibanez guitars is probably the most common complaint around here about Ibanez. It's not an unknown of problem.

If you can, try out a ESP or Fender or Schecter neck, something that's a little more average. See how you get on with that. You'll quickly work out if it's the super-thin Ibanez neck that's giving you trouble.
For what it's worth, I have large hands and I love the Ibanez necks, I'd love to go even thinner. I get no hand cramps, though I've been playing for over five years. When I was at your stage I had hand cramps on a much thicker neck, so I would say it's your technique and/or the way your guitar is set up. If your string action is high and you're tensing your hand unnecessarily, cramps will definitely happen.
Ibanez RG2228 w/ EMG808Xs | Line 6 POD HD500 | Mackie HD1221
I tend to get hand cramps on my Dean's slightly thinner C shaped neck than on my Schecter's more rounded and thicker C shaped neck. I haven't played super thin necks to the point of where my hands start cramping, so I couldn't really say.

You might just want to try out some thicker necked guitars and see how they feel. Schecters, Gibsons, Fenders and Epiphones tend to have thicker necks than Ibanez or LTD guitars.