Hello,

I've been playing bass since I was about 14 and I am now 21, I've been in all sorts of bands from punk to folk to blues, but I'm finding that I have reached something of a plateau with my playing, so does anyone have any tips for taking things up a level?

I've never taken any lessons (due to the expense) and I'm completely self-taught through picking up tabs and learning songs by ear, then developing my own riffs, and I tend to play in a bluesy-rock style (due to my longest-running band being a blues band). All this said I've never really studied the theory side of things and while I have a grasp of it (ie, I know what notes I'm playing and can improvise a little along while jamming based on blues progressions), I'm not at any standard where I can just bust out some crazy solo.

I'd welcome any tips or thoughts anyone has, or any books anyone can recommend. While I want to expand myself in every direction ultimately, my inspirations are John Entwistle and Jack Bruce so that's where I'm looking to progress.

Thanks!
How do you want to get better? Think specifically. Wanna get better at slap bass? Look up some slap bassists that you like, learn how to play their songs and use their techniques. If you like Entwistle and Bruce, look up some solos by them and learn how to play it. Practice applying those techniques and styles in your own music. If its difficult to play or hard to figure out thats a good thing, the key to getting better is overcoming challenges.