I've been playing guitar for almost two years now, I'm self-taught for the most part (I get the occasional "lesson" from a friend, which is mostly him just helping me with technique and hanging out), and all that I've really done since I got my first guitar is print tabs and learn them.

To be honest, I don't feel like I've made much progress since last summer, and plateaus suck so I want to make some progress soon. I don't really know what I should do next, because I want to write songs and stuff, and learn by ear, but I think I messed up by teaching myself.
Get a proper teacher.

Nuff Said

Just kidding, well you sound worried......well id get a teacher if your serious about being a guitar player just sit and learn songs if your going to be in a band!
hmm nothing wrong with self-taught. Have you check out some of the lessons on here? learn the major scales and how to build chords. And learn to analyze progression from tabs you learning. Soon you will pick up the idea of why such and such work the way they do, etc.
the situation you are currently in is incredibly common for guitars after 2 years of playing, so do not worry.

Your first option if you want to accelerate things is to find a teacher and have proper reguler lessons.

If you cannot afford that there are some great sites on the internet for learning the guitar which are free and very user friendly, here are some examples.

http://www.justinguitar.com/

http://www.guitarlessons365.com/

I suggest to solve your problems and really move things on you should do your best to learn an equal balance of technique, theory and aural skills (aural skills will help with working things out by ear, especially if you learn theory and fretboard skills to).

For some great theory stuff check this out:

http://lessons.mikedodge.com/

Just go through it all in order. It will only work if you do it in the order its listed but its explained greatly.