Hey all

Possible a dumb question here, but can't hurt to check- I'm getting a 7-string soon and I'm wondering if there is anything to consider amp-wise before buying. A guy in college sometimes brings his 5-string bass and it tends to blow the Trace Elliot amp..

Gear info in sig
I'm no expert, but I'm pretty sure amps don't have strings.
We've dressed up in our best...

...and are prepared to go down like gentlemen.

Quote by bogg808
The PBT is for those too TGP for the rest of UG.

I couldn't resist.

But yeah, I think it's less the amp than the speakers, as far as supporting the low end.
We've dressed up in our best...

...and are prepared to go down like gentlemen.

Quote by bogg808
The PBT is for those too TGP for the rest of UG.

You have nothing to really worry about when using a 7 string, but you may have to eq differently than you are used to. The 7th string can flub out pretty easily, especially if you aren't using super tight pickups. Just make sure to turn down the bass and mids a bit when you want to play the super low stuff and youll be fine.
Gear-Ibanex rg7321 w/dimarzio pups--->Ernie Ball Jr. Vol pedal--->TS9-->Line 6 DL4--->ADA MP-1--->Marshall 9005 poweramp--->Line6 4X12 straight cab w/v30s
Quote by Blick71
You have nothing to really worry about when using a 7 string, but you may have to eq differently than you are used to. The 7th string can flub out pretty easily, especially if you aren't using super tight pickups. Just make sure to turn down the bass and mids a bit when you want to play the super low stuff and youll be fine.

Thank you! Just what I wanted to know
5105/6505 handles low tunings very well, probably the best of all well known amps.
^I've found that carvin amps handle the low B far better than those two.

Personal preference there I suppose, but yeah.

Like the others have said, with a bit of eq'ing you'll be fine, just make sure your bass is turned down a good bit

My things:
Bowes SLx7
Washburn WG587
Washburn X40Pro
Washburn X50