Hello, I've been playing guitar for about 3 years now, and I've gotten myself up to a pretty decent level. I can play most of the songs of the bands I'm into (Muse, Rage Against The Machine, Radiohead etc.) from tabs, and I'd say my playing is pretty good.

I was wondering where I can go with my playing. What to learn to take it to a higher level. It feels like I've hit some kind of brick wall, that I'm just playing for the sake of it at the moment and not actually learning anything that's really helping. I'm pretty interested in songwriting with a view to creating a band at uni, but can't seem to get into it, everything I create sounds bland and uninspired compared to the likes of Muse.

Do any of you have any recommendations, tips or lessons you can point me too?
I'd be very grateful
dabble in music therory. You dont have to major in it, but learning the basics helps.
"It turns out you can just buy phycological validation"-Nathan Explosion

"everything I create sounds bland and uninspired compared to the likes of Muse."

Dude..........No one can.

But seriously it takes time and lots of effort to write good songs.
Just listen to the Newton Abbot Demo by Muse, some of those tracks just arn't that good but because they worked bloody hard at their art thay have gotten to a point where they write immense songs.

I will say, learn chord theory, understand how chords go together and just write songs.

All of those bands you listed are very talented and have been playing for many years before they got noticed, so don't get down because you can't write stuff like that in your 3 years of playing.

Another thing you can do is experiment with other genres, learn different licks, messing around with your tone or just listening to different bands.

Hope that was somewhat helpfull.
-Try to listen to some other music, you might enjoy some of it
-Learn some theory
-Keep Write songs (they get better if you keep writing trust me )
-If you find music you enjoy learn it