Hey everyone. I'm new here to Ulitmate Guitar. And I'm a learning musician. So I really don't have a full grasp on music-related concepts.

I've been a U2 fan since I first listened to The Joshua Tree. And I've been to at least five U2 concerts over the years.

At these concerts, I've discovered that every time U2 performs live, their songs sound very different from the original recordings.

One U2 fan told me that U2 regularly "re-arranges" their songs in order to fit a live setting.

What does it mean when an artist "re-arranges" an original recording? In what different ways could an artist "re-arrange" an original recording?

How do you guys go about "re-arranging" your songs? What certain elements and nuances of a song would you guys "re-arrange"?

Can any of you expert musicians here explain this to me?
Cut out, shorten or lengthen an intro. Rearrange the order of a song by deleting a chorus, or possibly by repeating a chorus. The possibilities are endless.
Well with U2, there's way too many parts being played in the recorded songs for them to reproduce live with just the 4 of them. "arranging" a song is working out what instruments play what and all the harmonies and layers and everything like that, so for them to re-arrange a song for live, it works out what is to be in the backing track, and what parts are most important for the band to actually be playing while leaving everything else out. it could also be adding new parts and changing the feel of the song and almost "remixing" it in a way. an example of that is when they did the more clubish version of "...Go Crazy Tonight" on the 360 tour.

they also re-arrange the song in a structural sense. where they'd repeat or leave out choruses or verses or sing other verses/songs mixed in with a different one. there's an infinite amount of things that can be done to a song, and a live setting is often where it's done.