Okay, I've been a guitarist for 6 years and Im moving soon, so I'll actually have enough room for some real gear Now Im supposed to check out amps tomorrow
So here's my questions:

1: what is a cabinet? Is it like a half stack except you can choose any head youd like with it? Or is a half stack just a amp head on top of a cabinet? what's the difference between the two?

2: my friend let me try out his peavy half stack and it sounded amazing!! He said it is because the amp has tubes?
- What are tubes?

- How can you identify if an amp has tubes (just research?)

- Where are tubes located? The amp head I assume

- my friend who let me try his amp said "get one with tubes. It turns the half stack from
sounding like shit to sounding amazing". Are tubes really essential in an amp for it to
have great tone? Or would you just recommend them?

3: Is there any general advice you have for me before I go out and spend some serious cash on an amp? I'd really appreciate it!

Thanks for any help.
Last edited by vincemyatt at Apr 16, 2011,
1 - Cabinet is what the amp head sits on. It houses the speakers so that the amp head can be heard.

2 - Most professional amps you hear still use vacuum tubes. They're the glass cylinders you see in the back of the amp head. You can usually tell pretty quickly if an amp is a tube amp or not. They aren't essential, but many people prefer them to solid state transistors, because their distortion is less harsh. It's all a matter of taste.

3 - Yes. For the love of god, don't go out and buy the most expensive amp you can. We need to know budget, musical style, and intended use (bedroom or gigging) before we can really help you out, though.
Kodiak bears make awesome bandmates.

Quote by wolvenrick
no seriously 7x NGD is epicness i declare you the winner of all NGD's on UG never have i seen this xD
Quote by vincemyatt