I first pawed at it around the year mark. Then it was mostly see-saw pentatonic's, the sort of stuff you hear on every generic blues backing track. Now after about 18 mo. I'm trying to really branch out and see what all the fuss is over.

Can't say anything I churn out sounds that good, and the stuff that does is probably something I subconsciously stole from another band. But hey, least I'm trying. It's a little intimidating because I think I'm more of a rhythm style player, but I don't wanna end up a one trick pony.

So ... did I wait too long to start trying to improv? How long did you guys wait before you wrestled the bear.
Last edited by Deaddog at Apr 19, 2011,
i started noodling basically when I started playing---I didn't start organizing it, practicing it or worrying about it sounding good untill 2 or 3 years in though.
all the best.
(insert self-aggrandizing quote here)
Even a rythm player should be able to dash out a solo or something every once in a while. Just play around, try to play like your idols, and such.
Quote by Wisthekiller
How does one safely remove the smell of a corpse from a banjo?
Quote by Deaddog
I first pawed at it around the year mark. Then it was mostly see-saw pentatonic's, the sort of stuff you hear on every generic blues backing track. Now after about 18 mo. I'm trying to really branch out and see what all the fuss is over.

Can't say anything I churn out sounds that good, and the stuff that does is probably something I subconsciously stole from another band. But hey, least I'm trying. It's a little intimidating because I think I'm more of a rhythm style player, but I don't wanna end up a one trick pony.

So ... did I wait too long to start trying to improv? How long did you guys wait before you wrestled the bear.

I started improvising after learning lots of songs and solos. That gave me alot to work with in terms of technique and aural ability. I just started doing it naturally based on the things I was playing.