Hi there, forum noob here.

So I've been playing drums or 6 or so years, and guitar for a little over 2 years, and I've decided I want to record my own stuff, on guitar that is.

I'm looking to buy EzDrummer (+Drumkit From Hell, both cheaper on Amazon) a POD X3 and my good friend can provide me with Cubase 5.

I'm kinda new to this, and have little experience (read: audacity) with such things as Cubase apart from lessons from my friend, who is a Cubase prodigy. However, I'm not stupid and I think I'll be able to pick it up pretty quick. Being a drummer, EzDrummer should be fine and the basics of Cubase seem fairly straight forward.

The only piece of hard/software I'm a little unsure of is the POD X3. It looks like it's generally the best thing, the POD 2.0 looks good too (and much cheaper) but the X3 just does.... Everything x1000.

So this is my concern. Am I in over my head here? Am I aiming too high? I have the ambition and time to invest and I want to learn. Money isn't tooooo much of a problem, I'm certainly willing to invest, (£117 Ez drummer+DFH + £280 for the X3) as long as I'm getting the best thing for the job.

Any words of advice would be appreciated, cheers.
i don't know about the pod... i think maybe a better bet would be getting a tone port UX1, and perhaps even using some VST ampsim because those can sometimes sound really really damn good. if you really want to get into recording and experiment with stuff, i highly recommend recording with amps, although thats an expensive alternative, and it would in most cases only be good with a good tube amp.

there are many choices as to which you can do, but in the end having a great sounding recording comes down to technique which is learned in time.

btw i think you should give reaper a shot, easiest to use DAW and it is amazing and comes with a lot of great VST's (eq, compression, etc)
whooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Quote by EJD