I'm just wondering because I've been playing roughly for 9 months - 11 months now, I'm just curious on what I should know how to do. Cheers ~
Know how to alternate pick.
Know how to fingerpick possibly. That's more of a personal preference however, but i think everyone should know it.
Know the basic CAGED chord shapes.
Know how to palm mute.
Know chucking. This is also a personal preference, but mainly useful for acoustic playing.
Know how to do basic legato. hammerons and pulloffs etc.
Know natural harmonics.
Know artificial harmonics. This one is also a personal preference and almost always for electric guitar playing.
Know unison bending.
Know downpicking. I'm talking to like a faster speed eg. Master of Puppets.
Know Barre Chords. I've been playing 2 years and i'm still horrible at them ):

That's some of the basics sorry i'm not of better help. I'm just going by what i learnt in my first 11months. This is why i'm not a guitar teacher (:
Last edited by vayne92 at Apr 20, 2011,
know that you need a better amp
"The man that hath no music in himself, nor is not moved with concord of sweet sounds, is fit for treasons, stratagems, and spoils. The motions of his spirit are dull as night, and his affections dark as Erebus. Let no such man be trusted."
Quote by vayne92
Know how to alternate pick.
Know how to fingerpick possibly. That's more of a personal preference however, but i think everyone should know it.
Know the basic CAGED chord shapes.
Know how to palm mute.
Know chucking. This is also a personal preference, but mainly useful for acoustic playing.
Know how to do hammerons and pulloffs.

That's some of the basics sorry i'm not of better help. This is why i'm not a guitar teacher (:

Know all of them, it's cool; you helped me

I've been taught how to tap, sweep, pinched harmonics etc. Thanks a lot
Quote by Swannie
know that you need a better amp

I have an alright amp. Well, actually it's pretty crap. But still, I can live with it.