alright, i posted something a couple hours ago but uhh heres another.

ive been playing guitar for about 3 or 4 years now and i think im finally starting to get pretty good in a technical sense. so these past few days ive been roaming around the forums trying to absorb as much information on theory as i can, but ive begun to realize i just keep running around in circles. i started with the major scale, then went to trying to learn modes (which i figured out i did waaay too early), then went to trying to learn keys and such then to chords then back to the major scale and blah blah mutha****in blah. so in this post i have one seemingly simple question for all of my fellow guitarists...

now that im making an attempt at learning theory, where should i start? and after that, what should i work on next and such?
You definitely started modes too early. Try looking up a column on UG called The Crusade. It really helped me. And just take your time with it and learn to apply everything before you move on too much
I hate my sig
Learn major scale, really learn it.
Blog Of Awesome UGers.
Quote by OddOneOut
I seem to attract girls.
Which is annoying, cos I'm a girl and I like cock.

Quote by IRISH_PUNK13
Being an idiot should be illegal too.
i think ive got the major scale down but f*** it, more practicell never hurt

and that crusade thing looks alright so far, so thanks for the reference.
ill be checkin that out now...

peace
Do you understand how triads are formed, 7th chords? What each note does relevant to the root?

Or do you just know 1 or 2 major scale patterns?

I don't mean to sound rude, but there is a big difference.
Blog Of Awesome UGers.
Quote by OddOneOut
I seem to attract girls.
Which is annoying, cos I'm a girl and I like cock.

Quote by IRISH_PUNK13
Being an idiot should be illegal too.