I'm interested in what the difference is between Jazz and Classical.

Mainly theory and philosophy. What is different? I know Universities offer either Classical or Jazz, but what is the difference in the way they teach you?

Thanks !
Quote from TGM "We're all musicians, we should protect our ears like we protect our dicks."
Quote by griffRG7321
One teaches you about classical music, the other Jazz.

Yeah that's pretty much it, I'm not really sure what kind of answer you're looking for, TS.
Only play what you hear. If you don’t hear anything, don’t play anything.
-Chick Corea
I am currently in this exact dilemma, trying to decide if I want to declare my primary instrument as Jazz or Classical guitar when I go to a university next year. I think the main difference is: Jazz is all about improv, harmonic extensions, modulation, lots of theory (That's what I LOVE about jazz.) Classical is a lot of sheet music (I'm studying this right now and it is really a lot of fun as well). Classical is also TECHNIQUE TECHNIQUE TECHNIQUE (that's what intimidates me).

Also, the school that I am going to only offers 'Music Technology Emphasis' to its Jazz Guitar students, while Classical guitarists can emphasize in theory, composition, performance.
Last edited by bryceh12321 at Apr 22, 2011,
Quote by food1010
Yeah that's pretty much it, I'm not really sure what kind of answer you're looking for, TS.

Sorry... the question is quite out of context. Actually... I've been accepted to a Jazz music program at a university, but in the university there is also the classical program. I know one teaches Jazz and one teaches Classical. Of course.

But would I be missing anything if I picked one over the other? What is the biggest difference in curriculum? And overall could I apply the stuff I learn from either programs to the same thing?

Quote by bryceh12321