Hey guys,

I'm new to this whole rack building thing, but I find it interesting and want to learn more. As far as racks go, if your not using a head you can use a pre amp and a power amp. Most pre amps I see are not tube. Such as the digitech gsp 1101 and rocktron prophecy. If I were to use these pre amps would the sound very digital? I really don't want a digital sounding amp, because I really love tube tone. If I were to use a tube power amp would It make my pre amp sound tube? Are there any really good tube pre amps out there?

Someone please explain this to me? Thanks!
Gibson Thunderhorse
Jackson RR24M
B52 AT100
Pre-amps modify your sounds before they get to your amp. Hence 'pre-amp.'
OBEY THE MIGHTY SHITKICKER
Yes I know this. If I had no head could I use a digitech gsp 11001 pre amp and then buy a power amp, and it would work just like a head?
Gibson Thunderhorse
Jackson RR24M
B52 AT100
Quote by King of King V
Yes I know this. If I had no head could I use a digitech gsp 11001 pre amp and then buy a power amp, and it would work just like a head?

crudely speaking, yes. you would be supplying the pre and post amplifier sections in two separate units.

as far as whether it would sound really digital, that depends greatly on the pre-amp and power amp you choose. if you go with a really nice, high-end pre-amp and a tube loaded power amp, it'll sound like a tube amp (mesa boogie tri-axis.... drool). if however, you choose a cheaper, all digital unit, and a cheaper power amp, you'll definitely have yourself something very digital.

that being said, I have hear digital pre-amps into mesa power amps (recto 2-100) that sound absolutely incredible. like, think about selling tube amps incredible
Quote by krehzeekid
crudely speaking, yes. you would be supplying the pre and post amplifier sections in two separate units.