I thought I'd ask you guys opinion on something.

I've been playing guitar for about 10 years, and I've been playing classical for 4. With classical, I tried to self-teach myself classical, but eventually I decided I needed a teacher to teach me classical, and I cleaned up a lot of the dos and don'ts with right and left hand technique, posture, all that good stuff.

I'd consider myself well-educated in classical guitar. My major is in music performance with classical guitar, and all that. In other words I think I know what I'm doing (even though I definitely didn't when I started).

But I've been wanting to learn Flamenco for a while since classical can get a bit boring after a while. Since classical and flamenco guitarists share some very similar technique, and the difference isn't as large as classical and blues or Rock for instance, do you think I'd be able to teach myself Flamenco alright? Or do you think I should still go ahead and get a teacher so I don't fall into many popular mistakes with technique or anything?
If you're already as far advanced in classical guitar as it seems you are then you should have no problem what so ever learning Flamenco by yourself.
The main thing you will probably need to work on is the rhythm of the right hand and the intense strumming that is needed, also keeping a beat using the guitars body is very common that I don't think is used much in classical guitar playing.
At the end of the day, just give it a shot and if you feel like you would benefit from lessons you can always give them a shot later!
Do that 99.9% of flamenco is traditionally not written down and passed down from teacher to student.i highly suggest a teacher. nobody i know has been able to successfully teach flamenco to themselves.....